Bibs

I’m still making those baby gifts.  How can I not.  It is SO much fun and they turn out so darn cute!  I went in search for a bib pattern and found this one on Pinterest.  It took me to her website http://sewshesews.wordpress.com/2010/04/08/quilted-patchwork-bib-pattern-and-tutorial/ and I used her easy to follow tutorial to make my own version of the bibs.

Racing Bib

What little boy wouldn’t look adorable in this?

Now picture this bib with the racing shoes I made in felt! Adorable, isn’t it?!?!

Here’s another one I made that I managed to remember to photo after most of the steps…

Layered and sewn

Layered and sewn

The layers are as follows:  Cotton batting (or whatever you choose for batting), Fabric choice 1 face up and fabric choice 2 face down.  Make sure it is in this order or it won’t come out right.

Cut out

Cut out

Cut out around the stitching, being careful not to get too close to the stitching.  You can see in a couple of places I came dangerously close.  If you don’t have pinking shears then you’ll have to notch it out.  Thankfully I invested in pinking shears years ago. (WHEW!)

Once it is cut and notched, then turn in right side out using the gap in the sewing.  Then tuck that section in and sew around the edge.

Hands and Feet Bib

Hands and Feet Bib

Add some velcro to it and you are finished!  Well, ok after ironing it.

Front/Back of bib

Front/Back of bib

I used white thread so the stitching would show on the pic.  Normally, I would have used a matching thread on the back side.

Here’s the best part of this:  IT TOOK ME UNDER ONE HOUR TO COMPLETE THIS PROJECT.  That is the time it took me the first time I did it.  It went much faster the second time.  I would say maybe 30 minutes the second time.  I love it when a handmade gift takes under an hour to make!

One thought on “Bibs

  1. Pingback: More Baby Bibs | Hoecakes & Hemlines

Leave a Reply

