Kiss My Lips

Lip Balm

Lip Balm

I made lip balm!  I purchased some lip balm base at my local Sunflower Shoppe and added some goodies to it.

Lip Balm Ingredients

Lip Balm Ingredients

I purchased the Vitamin E oil and the Sweet Almond oil at the Sunflower Shoppe as well.  I purchased the grapefruit oil at Central Market some time ago for another project.  The coconut oil was purchased at Costco and has been used in several projects and much of my cooking.  Man, I love that stuff!

I purchased some lip balm tubes and a filling tray and spatula at SKS Bottle & Packaging Inc for a great price.

I put my tubes into the filling tray then set the whole thing on a piece of parchment paper (to catch any spills).

Ok, so I did this the easy way.  I microwaved it.  If you know me, then you know what a big deal that is.  I hardly use my microwave for anything except heating some water for a cup of tea.  Even then, I prefer to boil water on the stove.  For some reason it tastes better.  I think its in my head, but that’s what I do…. Anyway… getting out of my head now.  (scary place to be!)

I used my 4 cup glass Pyrex measuring cup.  I emptied the lip balm base into my measuring cup and put in some coconut oil (maybe 1.5 tbsp) and microwaved it for one minute on high.  I watched it to make sure it wasn’t going to get too hot.  It didn’t.  It wasn’t completely melted.  I took it out and stirred it with a spoon until it was completely melted.  Then I added about 10 drops of grapefruit oil, 5 drops of vitamin E oil and 5 squirts of sweet almond oil.

I stirred it until I felt like it was all mixed then poured it into my lip balm tubes.  I had a little bit left over so I poured it back into the lip balm base container and will add it to the next batch.

Filled tubes in tray

Filled tubes in tray

 

This is the hard part… Now you wait.  I had to walk away and go sew.  I tried going into the other room and messing around, but I kept coming back.  I needed a real distraction so I sewed myself a maxi skirt.  I took my time deciding which material to use and pulled up an old episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer on Netflix and started sewing.  I managed to distract myself for 35 minutes (didn’t finish the episode). I went and checked and it looked good.  However I was worried it wouldn’t be completely set so I went back and sewed some things for my nieces’ dolls and managed to kill another 45 minutes.

That did the trick.  It was ready!  I immediately slathered some on my lips and it felt wonderful!  A little more slick than I expected, so I think I will cut back on the coconut oil a bit next time.  The smell is amazing and my lips are so soft. Kiss-ably soft.  Now all I need to do is come up with a clever name and label them to give away as Christmas gifts.

Lip Balm

Lip Balm

 

 

4 thoughts on “Kiss My Lips

  1. Pingback: Coconut Salt Scrub | Hoecakes & Hemlines

  2. Wow I had no idea you could purchase lip balm tubes!!! I would be willing to purchase some from ya if you make extra? Also I love coconut oil, its so awesome I use it for diaper rash since it is anti-yeast and anti- bacterial works great. (it’s also great for fading stretch marks, not that ladies get those :). Love your blog keep up the great work.

  3. Pingback: Guest Blog Post: Multitasker’s Meal « Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Leave a Reply

