My 10 Minute Dress

I am by no means an expert seamstress.  I would definitely call myself a novice, and I just made a dress in about 10 minutes!  Talk about a confidence booster!

I bought some fabric yesterday at JoAnn.  It was that fabric that is already shirred.  I’ve been eyeballing it for a while, but never purchased it because I felt like to was too expensive.  Well it was on sale so I bought it.   I mean really, I made a dress in 10 minutes for $12.00.

So the dress took one seam.  Yes, I said ONE seam.  Well, really it took two because I redid the seam to make it fit a bit more snug.  Had I gotten the size right the first go round, it would have only taken one seam.

I measured myself above my boobs (just put the measuring tape in your armpits – or if you are like me… um, a bit lower) and have your fabric cut to an inch more than that measurement.  Iron your fabric.  Next pin the fabric inside out and sew the seam.  I used my serger, but you can use your sewing machine.  Tuck in any loose threads and voila, a dress in 10 minutes.

The 10 minutes includes ironing, pinning, sewing and trying it on, and in my case, sewing again and trying it on again.  So it will probably take you less than 10 minutes.  I’m seriously thinking about going to get more fabric so I can have one in each color they sell!

In another 10 minutes you could easily add straps to the dress.  I’m going to live on the wild side and not add them to mine. LOL

My 10 Minute Dress

My 10 Minute Dress

Length of dress

Length of dress

2 thoughts on “My 10 Minute Dress

Leave a Reply

