Chicken Tortilla Soup in under 30 minutes

I had some chicken breasts I needed to cook asap.  What better way than soup?

Ingredients:

3 chicken breasts

1 small onion

1 jalapeno (optional unless you are me, then it is a necessity)

3 carrots (or in my case about 15 baby carrots)

tortilla chips (or in my case homemade baked chips thanks to instructions from Misty)

4 cups water

1 tbsp fresh oregano

1 tbsp fresh rosemary

1 tsp fresh thyme

1 tsp ground comino

2 tbsp olive oil (my best guess since I just put a splash in the pan without measuring, as usual)

1 bottle of Fat Tire (for the cook)

Directions:

Chop the vegetables and saute over medium heat for 5 minutes.

Add chicken breast ( you have two options:  chop it while it is raw or cook it whole and chop afterwards.  I chose the former)

Add herbs and spices Since I knew I had seasoned my tortilla chips I did not add any salt. If you like salt, then by all means add some.

Chicken Soup cooking

Chicken Soup Cooking

Cook until carrots and chicken are done (about 10 minutes more)

Crush tortilla chips in bottom of bowl.

Homemade tortilla chip

Homemade tortilla chip

Pour soup over the crushed chips and serve hot.

Crushed tortilla chips

Crushed tortilla chips

I paired mine with a Fat Tire and it was wonderful!

Soup & Beer

Soup & Beer

2 thoughts on “Chicken Tortilla Soup in under 30 minutes

    • Thank you. The tortilla chips are courtesy of a recipe by Misty’s first post on this blog and let me tell you they are way better than any I have ever had.

Leave a Reply

