Easy 100% Whole Wheat Tortillas with Rosemary and Thyme

Have you ever looked in the grocery store for 100% whole wheat tortillas? Me too. I gave up and decided to make my own. Mine are 100% whole wheat, plus a little something (herbs).

Ingredients:

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

1 tbsp vital wheat gluten (keeps it from being crumbly)

3 tbsp olive oil

2/3 cup warm water

1 tbsp fresh rosemary (optional)

1/2 tsp fresh thyme (optional)

Tortilla Ingredients

Tortilla Ingredients

Combine flour, salt, vital wheat gluten and baking powder.

Dry Ingredients

Dry Ingredients

Add oil, blend to a coarse meal consistency.

Mix in Oil

Mix in Oil

At this time if I am going to add any herbs, I put them in.

Add Herbs

Add Herbs

Stir in water and knead until dough is formed adding more water (1 tbsp at a time) as necessary.

Dough formed

Dough Formed

Cover bowl and let rest 15 minutes.

I used this time to prepare the food I was going to eat with my tortillas.  I guess I should say, get it cooking so it would be done at the same time I finished cooking the last tortilla. (See Fish Tacos post).  Or you could use this time to clean up a bit.

Make 12 balls of dough and roll out each tortilla.  I find it easiest to roll them right before putting them in the pan.

Cook over medium-high heat 1 1/2 to 2 minutes per side.

Cooking tortilla

Cooking Tortilla

ENJOY!

Tortilla stack

Tortilla stack

Please excuse my ugly tortillas. While they are wonderfully soft and delicious, I cannot roll out a round tortilla to save my life.  I like to think they all have character!

I just had a bite of one with peanut butter and honey and it is heaven!

Leave a Reply

