Shrimp Melanie

Image

In case you were so busy you didn’t have time to read my fascinating profile . . . I’m the one that doesn’t cook.  It’s so bad that the neighbors don’t even think twice when they see smoke pouring out of the doors and windows because they know I probably lit the oven on fire. Again.

So my Mom (the Melanie of the story), knowing my culinary shortcomings, turned me on to this super easy and most delicious recipe and therefore, I call it Shrimp Melanie.

Here’s your list of ingredients:

  • Bag of large shrimp (I get mine at Aldi – beautiful shrimp already shelled for about $6)
  • 1 glob of sour cream
  • 1 can of chopped tomatoes
  • Minced garlic – lots of it!
  • ½ onion, chopped
  • Penne pasta or spaghetti

Get your pasta water on to boil.  Chop up your onion, mince your garlic.  Pour a little olive oil in a saucepan and add shrimp. Cook for just a few minutes, flip it around a little. Don’t overcook . . . no one likes rubbery shrimp.  Add your onion and garlic.  Plan on not kissing anyone for a while.

Let this simmer for a few minutes while you get your pasta going.  At this point you are about 10 minutes from done, so if you want to toast some garlic bread, now is the time.

Add your undrained can of tomatoes and a large serving spoon size dollop of sour cream. You can add some Alfredo sauce if you have some handy, but my God that stuff is fattening. Up to you.  By now your shrimp mix is a nice pinky color and smells delicious.

If you find your mix is too soupy, add a handful of flour to thicken things up. (Can you believe I just learned this trick? Wow! Changed my life!)

Drain your pasta, gracefully place your shrimp mixture on top, and pour yourself a glass of wine for all  your hard work.  It’s not really hard work at all but no one knows that, so go ahead.

Now I have majorly screwed up some things in the kitchen. I usually sneak a bite of whatever I’m trying to cook and if its just God awful, I pour it down the sink right before I cheerfully announce “It’s Cereal Night kids! Yaaaay!”

But when my family discovers Shrimp Melanie is on the dinner menu, it’s like they won the Dinnertime Lottery. My kids LOVE this dish. It’s gourmet and not just by my minimum standards.

This dish also qualifies as Even Better the Next Day, if you’re lucky enough to have leftovers.

3 thoughts on “Shrimp Melanie

Leave a Reply

