My Flaming Lips Whole Wheat Brownies

Chocolate and chilis were meant to be eaten together or at least in my mind they are.  I’ve paired them in my whole wheat brownies and it is a hit.  All my coworkers got bags of Michelle’s Spicy Brownie mix for Christmas last year and I’ve heard no complaints yet.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

6 tbsp cocoa

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1 cup brown sugar ( I usually hold back a bit on the sugar and use between 3/4 and 1 cup)

2 tbsp strong coffee (or in a pinch use instant coffee )

1/2 cup olive oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

a handful of chocolate chips ( I prefer bittersweet chips)

2 eggs

Ingredients

Ingredients

Directions: (short and sweet)

Mix all your dry ingredients in a bowl.

Mix all your wet ingredients in a separate bowl.

Fold in chocolate chips.

Combine your dry and wet ingredients and mix well. (I mix all this with a big spoon or spatula)

brownie batter in pan

brownie batter in pan (please ignore my toes)

Bake in a greased (olive oil) 8×2 pan at 325 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes.  To check if done, use knife test.

Brownies on a plate

Brownies on a plate

I like to serve it with some of my Ice Dream (vanilla and mint.)

This is a wonderful dessert to be served with something like Misty’s Salisbury steak, just to have for a treat.

Experiment with these.  Sometimes I add nuts, sometimes I don’t put in the cayenne, but add peanut butter. Have fun with them!

One thought on “My Flaming Lips Whole Wheat Brownies

  1. Pingback: Special Brownies | Hoecakes & Hemlines

Leave a Reply

