Conquering Hexagons with Dr. Seuss

I thought I would share pictures of the hexagon quilt I made for my nephew’s 3rd birthday.

I have wanted to work with hexagons since I can remember.  Everything I read on piecing them was terrifying!  Paper piecing, running stitches and templates OH MY!  Then out of nowhere, I stumbled across a super simple way to piece them using a machine.  I took the information I found and added my own spin on that technique.  I did conquer the hexagon and it is no longer a scary and time-consuming process. I also challenged myself by free motion quilting the whole thing.

I will be posting a tutorial on machine piecing hexagons the hoecake way in the very near future.  It is so easy!

**I apologize for the poor photo quality.  I have a habit of giving away my work without photographing it.**

 

Leave a Reply

