Easy Quinoa

Quinoa is a great dish.  It is versatile.  You can eat it as a side, you can eat it as a cereal. It cooks in about 15 minutes.  20 if you like to toast it before cooking it.

It cooks like rice.  1 part quinoa and two parts liquid.  Here’s how I cooked it last night:

Ingredients:

1 cup washed quinoa (you can purchase it pre-washed or wash it your self.  Just make sure it is washed otherwise it is bitter)

2 cups water (or stock)

1/4 cup onion

1/8 cup Anaheim peppers

Herbs of choice

Spices of choice

Directions:

I always begin my toasting my quinoa in a dry pan.  It gives it a great flavor.

Toasting quinoa

Toasting quinoa

Once it is toasted add water.

Bring to boil.

Bring to boil

Bring to boil

Reduce heat to lowest setting.

Add onion and peppers.

Add herbs and spices (I usually add the same herbs and spices as I do the protein I am cooking to go with the quinoa).

Cover and let absorb water (about 15 minutes).

Cover

Cover

Serve warm.

I wanted you to see what the cooked quinoa looked like, but I forgot to take a pic of the cooked quinoa so I’m using a pic from a couple of months ago when I cooked it with some chicken. (It was delicious cooked that way!)

Cooked quinoa

Cooked quinoa

You can add vegetables to your quinoa.  As you can see in the above pic I added carrots to it.

Leave a Reply

