Scarf-a-palooza

Every girl needs a scarf.  Especially if you don’t like the way your neck looks (I hate mine).

So one of the first things I sewed for myself was a scarf.  It is simple to do. Or it can be simple. You can always complicate it. I mean, we are women after all…

Figure out how long you want it to be.  If your fabric isn’t long enough then sew it together to make it long enough.

If your fabric is one-sided, then you’ll have to sew two pieces together (right sides out, of course).

You can embellish the scarf if you want to or just keep it simple. Here’s what I did.  I sewed my fabric together to make it long enough then sewed the sides up to show only the pretty side of the fabric. I sewed the ends shut on a couple of them and on a couple I sewed some balls on the end.  When I sewed the sides together I sewed it wrong sides out. I then turned it right sides out and sewed up the ends so the ends would match.

Purple scarf

Purple scarf

Purple scarf

Purple scarf. I used a decorative stitch to sew the ends shut

silk scarf with brown balls

silk scarf with brown balls

green silk scarf with black balls

green silk scarf with black balls

And now for a scarf of a different kind… T-shirt scarf.

This one was by far the most fun to make.  The only materials required are scissors and old t-shirts.  I guess you could use new ones if you wanted to.  Personally I would cut up my old ones to make scarves and buy new ones to wear with the scarves.

Here’s all you do:

Cut the old t-shirt into circles.  You lay the shirt flat and start at the bottom and cut through both the front and back of the shirt.  Cut them into varying widths. I didn’t measure mine. I just cut.

Take a couple of cut strips at a time and stretch them. Once you have stretched several twist them together like I did in the pic.  Take one of the strips and use it to wrap around the seams and to hold it together. Voila… scarf completed.

Cammo and black T-shirt scarf

Camo and black T-shirt scarf

Leave a Reply

