Baked Chicken

Baking a chicken is not an art form.  It is one of the easiest things to do.  To me the most important part is cleaning the chicken.  I wash it thoroughly before baking it.  Inside and out. I even lift the skin to clean under it.  Once you are satisfied that it is clean… Decide what the overall flavor you want for the meal and dress up your chicken!

I put all the herbs under the skin and in the cavity.  I give my chicken a rub down of oil…  It puts the lotion on its skin or else it gets the hose again…  Back to reality… then put it in the roasting pan and bake in a 350 degree oven.  The bake time will vary with the size of your bird.  Bake it for 20 to 25 minutes for every pound.  I usually split the difference when I set the timer and go for 23 minutes per pound.  Make sure the juices run clear and your bird is ready for your belly!

Baked chicken

Baked Chicken

the chicken in the above pic was baked with Rosemary and Thyme under the skin and in the cavity.  I rubbed it down with coconut oil (it puts the lotion on its skin…) I didn’t have any lemons or limes on hand so when I plated the chicken I splashed a little lemon juice (I try to always have a bottle on hand).  It was delicious!

2 thoughts on “Baked Chicken

Leave a Reply

