Kitchen Sink Stuffed Peppers

After a lazy Sunday, or cave day, like we call it at our house I decided that we should probably have a dinner that wasn’t cereal.  So I looked in the fridge and noticed that I like Michelle (fellow hoecake) had some cowboy caviar left over from potluck that needed to be used so I decided to put it into stuffed bell peppers.  Because there is no amount of money that would persuade me to go to the grocery store on a Sunday evening i decided to just use what I had on hand.  So be creative here and please do not go to the grocery store if you don’t have to!

Ingredients:

Bell Peppers-I only had two and this recipe makes a lot!!

Turkey sausage links

spinach-about two handfulls

Rice-I used instant white rice

Cowboy Caviar (if you don;t have this use corn, black beans, cilantro, peppers, anything goes here)

Shredded Mozarella

Corn Tortillas-I just baked these for chips

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350

Cook the rice like you would normally

Remove the sausage from the casing and brown in a little bit of olive oilImage

Once the sausage is almost done add the spinach.  I am always trying to sneak spinach into recipes because me husband is not the biggest fan.  Once that is done add the rice and the cowboy caviar to the mixture and turn off

Image

Once that is just chilling, cut the tops off you bell peppers and clean out.  Helpful hint-I always cut a little bit off the bottom so they won’t fall over

Image

Fill peppers and top with Mozzarella and put in the oven for about 20 minutes

Here is what the final looked like with baked corn tortillas.  ENJOY

Image

Leave a Reply

