First Potatoes of the Season

Thanks to a busy little gopher we got some potatoes early this year.  He decided to nibble on a potato plant killing it then headed towards its neighbor. We pulled them up to find a handful of potatoes.  They made a tasty partner to my scrambled eggs this evening.  The only part of our meal that was not fresh was a tablespoon of olive oil , some black pepper and a little parmesan cheese.  The rest of it is fresh from the garden or in the case of the eggs, fresh from the ducks (thanks for your contribution ladies).

I sliced (about 1/4 an inch thick) the potatoes and tossed in the pan with a tbsp of olive oil.

I added one small onion, sliced (the top of the onion went into my eggs)

Potatoes and Onion

Potatoes and Onion

1 clove garlic, chopped

1 jalapeno pepper, chopped

Some herbs of choice (I used fresh oregano, rosemary, thyme and Thai basil)

Added herbs

Added herbs

I cooked over medium heat for about 15 minutes. – I kept it covered most of the time to hold in heat and speed up the cooking.

I put the potatoes on a plate once they were done.

I added a bit of parmesan cheese because I need to use it up. I used maybe 1/8 of a cup.  (I still have some left!)

I scrambled the eggs in my potato pan. I added green onion (the tops to the onion I put in the potatoes) and some kale.

That’s it. Dinner is done.  And let me tell you, it was DELICIOUS!

Plated Potatoes

Plated Potatoes

Leave a Reply

