Spring is in the air

Spring is in the air in, at least Texas. That is if you consider temperatures in the 90s spring.  It is our spring and we love it!  And I love my garden!  It gave me most of the goodies for my dish.

I wanted to make a dish that said spring to me.  Pasta salad was calling to me.  Here’s how I did it:

1/2 lb whole wheat pasta, cooked

2 radishes and their leaves, finely chopped

4 green onions, chopped

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

Handful of kale, finely chopped

Handful of swiss chard, finely chopped

1 tbsp parmesan cheese

2 tbsp olive oil

Some fresh Thai basil

Some fresh Oregano

Juice of one lime, and some zest

I put the pasta on to cook.  In the last three minutes of the cooking I added the finely chopped radish leaves. Cooking them makes the prickly parts palatable. At this point my radishes are pretty mature so long gone are the tender, young leaves.  Doesn’t matter, they are just as delicious, they just require a bit more attention.

Once the pasta is cooked, cool it with running water.  Once it is cooled, add the other ingredients and mix well.

All done.  Spring Pasta Salad ready to serve.

Spring Pasta Salad

Spring Pasta Salad

Leave a Reply

