Don’t wanna go to the grocery store fish

Do you ever think that you have ton of usable ingredients but when you actually start taking a longer long everything is wilted or a science experiment? That is what happened to me tonight. I had gotten Tilapia out of the freezer and thought I had stuff to put on it. Fresh cilantro-gone bad; spinach-gone bad, garlic-started sprouting. So here is what I did with the little bit of stuff I actually had:

Ingredients:

Fish-I used tilapia filets
Onion-cut into pieces
Spices-I used garlic powder and a sun dried tomato and herb spice I had in the back of the pantry
Pineapple Juice-the kind in the big can that is used in baby shower punch
Lime Juice
Instant rice
Aluminum Foil

Here is what I did:

Tore a piece of foil, and put the fish on top.
Season the fish then brush on some pineapple juice and add the onion
Then fold the foil into a little packet and grill for about 10 minutes.

While that was cooking, it was time to cook instant rice but instead of boiling 2 cups of water I put 1 1/2 cups of water and a 1/2 cup of pineapple juice and boiled that then added the rice. When it was done I added a touch of lime juice and a sprinkle of sugar.

Dinner turned out really good and thank goodness tomorrow is trash day so I can throw out the stinky stuff

20120530-193113.jpg

20120530-193727.jpg

20120530-194255.jpg

One thought on “Don’t wanna go to the grocery store fish

Leave a Reply

