Curried Chicken & Veggies in under 30 Minutes

This dish is delicious.  I am eating it as I am typing this.  Make no mistake.  This post will take longer than expected for me to type.  It is hard to tear myself away from this dish.  It is wonderful!  Even better, it is simple to make.  Believe me after working all day I don’t want to make a complicated dinner.  I don’t know if you have noticed or not, but the meals I prepare are simple.  I like simple.  Life is hard enough, let’s keep cooking fabulous meals simple!

Ingredients: (these are the amounts I used, change whatever you want)

2 chicken breasts, chopped into bite size pieces

3 carrots, sliced

1 medium onion, sliced

2 medium red potatoes, chopped into bite size pieces

4 cups raw Kale, chopped.

1 jalapeno, chopped (you decide for yourself if you want the seeds or not.  I wanted them)

fresh rosemary

fresh thyme

fresh oregano

fresh Thai basil

1 tbsp coconut oil

2 cups chicken (or vegetable) stock

2 tsp ground turmeric

2 tbsp red curry powder

2 tbsp arrow root or corn starch

Toss your potatoes in a preheated pan with the coconut oil and stir.

Add carrots, stir.

Add onion, stir.

Add jalapeno, stir.

Jalapeno

Jalapeno

Add stock, stir.

Add herbs, stir.

Add stock

Add stock

Add chicken (if your chicken is bite size it won’t take long to cook all the way through), stir.

Add Chicken

Add Chicken

Add spices, stir.

Spices

Spices

Add kale, stir.

Add kale

Add kale

When your potatoes and carrots are cooked dissolve the arrow root in a little water and pour into pan to thicken the remaining stock, stir.

Cook it for a couple more minutes allowing it to thicken into a sauce.

Allow to thicken

Allow to thicken

Serve warm!  You have a complete meal in there.  Well, after we paired ours with a Milk Stout, we had a complete meal. Meat, Veggies, Starch, Dairy.  I have to brag a little bit, all the veggies except the carrots were fresh from the garden.  All the herbs were fresh from the garden.

Serve it warm

Serve it warm

Enjoy it! I know I am! MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

 

Leave a Reply

