The Gift That Keeps on Giving

Every year my husband’s family draws names for which adult we will be buying for that Christmas.  This past year I drew my Mother-in-law Marcy as my person to buy for.  Most people complain about their Mother-in-laws, but really mine is amazing.  She is an amazing artist (post to come soon).   She does oil and acrylic painting, but her newest passion is turning plain old gourds into amazing works of art. She is one of the most generous people you will ever meet and sincerity shines through her every action.  

Marcy’s sweet spirit has shined through some of the toughest days imaginable.  She has managed to raise 3 wonderful children and I was lucky enough to marry her only son.  She was widowed in 2000 and in 2010 she married a wonderful man named David. I have never seen her happier.  I wanted to make a gift that showed how much I appreciate her.  I had recently learned how to quilt and had fallen in love with it and decided that I would throw together a quilt!  It was going to be EASY!  There was a sale on jelly rolls and I was going to just sew the strips together and go!  HA!

I bought 2 jelly rolls of Hullabaloo by Moda and went in search of inspiration. Image

 It was perfect! Colorful and feminine but fun as well!  I buy these rolls and rush home!  When I get home I unroll all the wonderful strips of beautiful fabric and everything changes.  I don’t like how the colors fit.  My eye sees two distinctly different colorways. One pink and one red.  OH NO!  

Image

Marcy’s Quilt Front

I split the color ways up and decide that I will pick up a few yards of solids and have red on one side and pink on the other.  I run to my favorite store and grab some gray and some red and get back to piecing.  no real rhyme or reason to the piecing but I finished quickly.  I put it down to start basting and I REALLY don’t like the way it looks.  What now?  I like them individually but not together.  I did what I thought seemed logical.  I decided to turn it into 2 different quilts.  Logical Right?  The pink colorway was PERFECT for Marcy and the red colorway was PERFECT for my sister. I run back to the fabric store and find backing for both and head home.  I must say that after all that I am really glad that my husband’s family celebrates Christmas on New Years!  It saved me a sleepless night or two!

Image

ImageImage

2 thoughts on “The Gift That Keeps on Giving

  1. Panda…Marcy and your sister are going to love these. You are really taking off in quilting huh? The quilt shows the love.

Leave a Reply

