Egg Pie, Not Your Mom’s Quiche

We’ve been eating left overs from Sunday night’s feast for lunches and dinners, it is now Tuesday.  Time to change it up, sort of.  I used what was left and added a bunch of goodies from the garden and some eggs.  Here’s what happened:

Definitely not your mom's quiche

Definitely not your mom’s Quiche

I tore up 4 corn tortillas and put them in the bottom of  a 9×9 cake pan that I put about a tbsp of olive oil in.  Then I poured the left over hot sauces I made over it.  I didn’t want it to be dry.

Egg Pie Crust

Egg Pie Crust

Pour on the hot sauce

Pour on the hot sauce

Next I chopped a zucchini and three cayenne peppers I got from the garden and put them on as the next layer.

Zucchini and peppers

Zucchini and peppers

Then I sliced the okra I picked and finely chopped some kale and swiss chard.  That was layer 4

Okra, kale, swiss chard layer

Okra, kale, swiss chard layer

Then add 6 beaten eggs.  I used fresh duck eggs.  Top it with some shredded cheese.

Pop it in a 375 degree oven for about 30 minutes or until the egg is cooked and the cheese is browned.

Baked pie

Baked pie

Serve warm

Plated Egg Pie

Plated Egg Pie

2 thoughts on “Egg Pie, Not Your Mom’s Quiche

    • Thank you. I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, but it was great. The tortillas were not dry because of the hot sauce. This one was a winner!

Leave a Reply

