Homemade Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns in 30 minutes

I made my own buns tonight.  It was an experiment gone right.

salmon burgers on homemade buns

salmon burgers on homemade buns

I used the whole wheat dinner roll recipe I posted on March 19th.  https://hoecakesandhemlines.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/fast-whole-wheat-rosemary-dinner-rolls-in-30-minutes/

Ingredients:

1 1/8 cups warm water

1/3 cup olive oil

2 tbsp yeast

1/4 cup honey

1/2 ts salt

1 egg

1 tbsp vital wheat gluten

3 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

2 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary (can use dried or really the herb of your choice)

Directions:

Mix water, oil, yeast and honey.

Set aside for 15 minutes.

Add salt and eggs.

Mix gluten with flour and gradually add to the wet ingredients.

Shape into hamburger buns.

shape into buns

shape into buns

Cover with a towel and let rise in a warm, draft free place for 10 minutes.

Bake for 10-15 minutes (until golden brown) in a 400 degree oven.

I made the rolls bigger (hamburger size).  Basically, I made four out of the recipe for a dozen rolls.

Hot Buns!

Hot Buns!

I made some fabulous salmon burgers with it.  I also baked some zucchini and potato chips.  Tonight’s meal was low-key but high flavor!

I cooked the salmon burgers with sage and jalapeno.  I sliced open the buns and put a little cheese on one side and mustard on the other.  I used swiss chard instead of lettuce.  They were great!  The only thing that wasn’t either homemade or home-grown was the salmon burger.  Thank you Costco for the lovely salmon patties!

Salmon burger

Salmon burger

As for the zucchini and potato chips I… sliced up one zucchini and potato (both home-grown), tossed them in some coconut oil, put down a sheet of parchment paper on the cookie sheet and spread the zucchini and potato.  Then I seasoned them with garlic powder, ground chipotle and black pepper.

Put them into a 400 degree oven (preheated from baking the buns) for about 25 minutes or until crisp.

baked zucchini and potato chips

baked zucchini and potato chips

I garnished ours with a few fresh okra from the garden.  We love okra!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns in 30 minutes

  1. I’ve simply got to try this! I’ll bookmark it so when I grocery shop again, I’ll buy the vital wheat gluten – I haven’t cooked with it yet. I’m excited to try. And I love your pictures!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

