Beef. It’s What’s for Dinner

I’m not very good at preparing beef.  It isn’t my favorite thing to eat so I struggle with what to do with it.  I am so glad we can get quality beef at Burgundy Beef!  If you start with a quality product even if you aren’t good at it, it is bound to turn out good!  Here’s what happened last night:

Beef, it's what's for dinner

Beef, it’s what’s for dinner

I made a marinade using lime juice, ginger, pineapple and a two dashes of soy sauce.  I let my rib eye sit in that for about 30 minutes, after I brought it to room temperature, of course.

Meanwhile… I sliced an eggplant and roasted it.  Yummy!  Before I roasted it, I sprayed it with a little olive oil then sprinkled some garlic powder and black pepper on it.  Put it in a 400 degree oven until they were crisp.  Eggplant chips!

Eggplant chips

Eggplant chips

I was also cooking some brown rice in a little chicken stock.  I chopped an onion and cooked it with the rice.  When the rice was done I tossed in some chopped swiss chard.  You know that 5 to 10 minutes you are supposed to let your rice rest after cooking it.  That was when I put in the swiss chard. Right on top.  After 10 minutes it was nicely wilted and I mixed it in.

Add some chopped swiss chard

Add some chopped swiss chard

Now for the rib eye.  I sautéed it in the marinade. Then poured the sauce on top when I served it.  It gave it an interesting flavor.  A little sweet, a little salty, a lot of yummy.

Plated meal

Plated Meal

Leave a Reply

