QuiltCon Block Challenge – Modern Cathedral

Somewhere between the Southern Baptists traditions I was raised with and what I believe now.

I have been dreaming of slicing into the fabric bundle that we got from Fort Worth Fabric Studio and MadTosh for a few weeks!  I FINALLY decided on putting a modern twist on a traditional block and this is the result.  I like to think it is somewhere between the Southern Baptist tradition I grew up with and the views I have today.

This is the first Cathedral Window block that I have ever attempted.  It used an enormous amount of fabric, but I really think that keeping with tradition was important.  I used the pattern found in 99 Modern Blocks.  I spent a lot of time at the ironing board hanging out with my girl Mary Ellen’s Best Press.  When I set down to actually sew it was magical to pull back the edges and create the windows.  I was so excited about the result that I actually had to stop and take a break so I wouldn’t make a “happy” mistake! (Maybe I am the only one that has to do this. If I don’t stop then I make mistakes and end up using the seam ripper more than the sewing machine.) I hope that I can actually give this up to the Quilt Con instead of keeping it for myself.

VERY IMPORTANT LINKS:

http://www.fortworthfabricstudio.com/cgi-bin/Store/store.cgi?cart_id=8183819.24269.s0&product=bundles_main&productid=quilt_con_fqbundle28&sales=0&lastmenu

http://madtosh.com/

I highly recommend each of these vendors for product quality and excellent service!

***I have some fabric left and plan on slicing it for another block.  Keep checking back for more blocks!***

3 thoughts on “QuiltCon Block Challenge – Modern Cathedral

  1. What a beautiful quilt! I have several that were handed down to me from my great grandmother in South Carolina. Sadly, I am not much when it comes to sewing. Most of my buttons I sew on fall off by the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

