Cheesy Squash Cornbread

Let me start off by saying our dog, who is old and can’t see very well, helped me make this dish by picking an acorn squash (about the size of a softball) she was sure was her toy last night.  She very proudly brought it to me after fighting (growling the whole time) with the squash vine to free it.  I don’t think she appreciated my laughter one bit.

This was an experiment (again… always experimenting).  So I guess this makes this an original recipe!

Ingredients:

1 small acorn squash, peeled and chopped

1 huge yellow squash, peeled and chopped

1 cup water

3/4 cup cornmeal

1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

a few fresh Thai basil leaves

1 sprig fresh thyme

1 red cayenne pepper

I peeled the acorn squash.  That is a much tougher job than I thought it would be.  I almost lost a thumb in the process.  Ok, well it was more of a deep scratch, but it hurt very bad!  Anyway… I cut up the peeled acorn squash and popped it into the Vitamix.  I then peeled a huge yellow squash my dad and his girlfriend dropped off Sunday.  Chopped it up and put it in the Vitamix.  I also tossed in some Thai basil, thyme, a beautiful red cayenne pepper and water.  I blended it until it was smooth.

I’d like to say that I don’t normally peel my veggies, I think you are throwing away a lot of nutrients doing so. However, these guys were tough.  The skins were so thick.  They had to go.  Ok, I feel better saying that.  I felt like I had to justify why I peeled them.

Passed the knife test

Passed the knife test

Pour the blended goodies into a mixing bowl.  Add the cornmeal, flour and baking soda.  Put it in a greased 9×9 pan and bake at 400 for 20 minutes or until done (I used the knife test).  When it came out I sprinkled some sharp cheddar on top and popped it back in the oven to melt.

Melt the cheese

Melt the cheese

Think of this as an opportunity to get your kids to eat squash without them even knowing it.  It tastes like cornbread.  Only it is more moist than regular cornbread.  Ours was spicy as well, thanks to the cayenne pepper.  If I was going to feed kids I’d omit the pepper.

Thanks Halle for picking the acorn squash for us!

Look at all that deliciousness

Look at all that deliciousness

Leave a Reply

