Jazz Up Your Photo

One of the things I like to do is take photos.  I wouldn’t say I am great at it.  I get by, more importantly I love it!

I like to display my photos and have found a wonderful way to jazz them up.  I experimented with some photos for work.

I mounted them on canvas then brushed some modge podge (I used gloss) over them to give them some texture and to protect the photo.  Wow! They turned out beautiful!

Please don’t critique the photos, like I said they are for work.  The content is work related.  Look at the texture of the photos and how lovely they turned out.

I picked up the canvas at Michael’s, on sale no less.  The photos I had processed at my local Walgreens.  I had 8×10’s and 11×14’s made.

canvas waiting on photo

canvas waiting on photo

Put Modge Podge on both the canvas and back of the photo.  Putting it on the back of the photo makes it easier to move it once you’ve stuck it to the canvas.  Adjust the photo as necessary to get it on the canvas.  Then apply one or two layers of Modge Podge to the front of the photo.

I applied the Modge Podge on some of them in straight lines, some of them in small circles, some in a cross hatch.  I got creative.  Do whatever makes you happy it is your project!

By the way since this project takes so much Modge Podge I used matte Modge Podge on the canvas and back of photo.  I used gloss on the front of the photo.

Modge Podge in straight lines

Modge Podge in straight lines

Modge Podge in cirlces

Modge Podge in cirlces

Look at the texture on this one

Look at the texture on this one

More texture

More texture

Here's a dry one

Here’s a dry(ish) one

Leave a Reply

