Grilled Cheese for Grown Ups

Sometimes nothing will do but a grilled cheese sandwich.  Melted cheese… is it even possible to say no to cheese?  I can’t do it.  I’ve tried saying no and it doesn’t work.  I can say no to a slice of that stuff they call cheese food. Oh yes, I can always turn that down.  It isn’t even listed as cheese.

I made a grilled cheese sandwich for grown up me.   Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

Whole wheat bread, sliced (two pieces)

Cheese of choice.  I used smoked gouda and sprinkled a little Parmesan cheese on it.

Add cheese

Add cheese

Pepper, sliced.  I used an Anaheim.

add pepper

add pepper

Spinach, as much or as little as you want.

add spinach

add spinach

Spicy mustard

toast it up

toast it up

Olive oil (no butter for me anymore)

grilled

grilled

Put a small amount of olive oil in your pan and put on med-high.

Take one slice of bread and put it in the oil

Add cheese, sliced pepper, spinach

Apply spicy mustard to the other slice of bread and put it on top of your sandwich mustard side down.

Once the bottom is toasted (a couple of minutes) use a spatula to carefully flip your sandwich and toast the other side.  Once it is toasted, cut in half and serve.

I served mine with an apple.

Plated grilled cheese

Plated grilled cheese

 

 

4 thoughts on “Grilled Cheese for Grown Ups

  1. Your sandwich sounds wonderful! i love smoked gouda but I can never get it to melt. I don’t make thick slices but it just sits there between the bread. 😦

  2. Candy, let me know how it turns out. You can snap some photos and send them to me. I’ll post them.

Leave a Reply

