Something Old, Something New

I don’t like to waste food.  I try to do something different with my left overs so we aren’t eating the same thing until it is gone.  Well, not exactly the same thing…

I take the left overs and combine them with new stuff to make a new dish.  Eventually using up the left overs. Eventually.

Ingredients (of course this will vary day-to-day)

Brown rice (cooked – left over)

1/4 Red Bell Pepper (chopped – left over)

1/4 Yellow Bell Pepper (chopped – left over)

3/4 Green Bell Pepper (chopped – left over)

Grape tomatoes (fresh), halved

Onion (fresh), chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

Baby bok choy (fresh), chopped

Thai basil (fresh)

Jalapeno pepper (fresh)

Tilapia (not left over, not fresh, frozen then thawed)

I cooked the whole meal in one pan.  I try to do that as often as possible because as much as I love cooking, I HATE cleaning up.  I try to minimize the dishes to wash to avoid traumatizing myself.

Put your pan on over medium-high heat.  Add the olive oil.

Toss in your onions and cook for a minute or two.

Add your tomatoes.  Cook for a minute or two.

Add various peppers (bell, jalapeno).  Cook for a minute or two.

Reduce the heat to medium-low.

Put the left over rice in the pan and stir it around to coat with oil so it won’t stick.

Add the bok choy and Thai basil. Stir it around to mix it up.

Lay the fish thawed on top (I put a little paprika on it) and put a lid on it.

It will only take a few minutes to cook the fish.  It is done when it easily flakes with a fork.

Serve it up warm.

Left overs revived

Left overs revived

Leave a Reply

