Spiced Pear Smoothie

In my neck of the woods pears are in season.  I anticipate eating a lot of them in the near future.  I usually end up freezing them as well.  Today, I used fresh.

Fresh Pear

Fresh Pear

I washed and peeled two pears.

Pears

Pears

I cut them up and tossed them in a pan with two tbsp of water some cinnamon, ginger, ground cloves, nutmeg and some cinnamon basil.

Add Spices and Herbs

Add Spices and Herbs

I covered and cooked them on low while I was cooking dinner.  When I finished cooking dinner I turned off the heat and let them cool while we ate.

After dinner I put about 3 tbsp greek yogurt in the Vitamix.  I poured the pears and the delicious liquid from the pan in with the yogurt.  I added a few (5) ice cubes then blended it up.  I had to add a few more ice cubes as I blended to achieve the desired thickness.  Since that will vary from person to person, add as many or as few as you like.  I like it to be thick enough to have the straw stand up.

Blend it up

Blend it up

Leave a Reply

