Low Carb Pizza Crust

I’m on a low carb kick and I was craving pizza.  What was I going to do?  A Google search of course!  I found a recipe for a flax seed meal pizza crust and modified it for my taste.  Not only was it easy and quick to make (about 30 minutes) it tasted great!  I think this will be the only pizza crust I’ll be making !

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flax seed meal (got mine at Costco)

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 tsp fresh oregano

1 tsp fresh rosemary

2 cloves chopped garlic

3 tbsp olive oil

3 eggs (I used egg substitute)

1/2 cup water

Mix all ingredients together ( I mix all the wet ingredients with each other and all the dry ingredients with each other, then mix the two)

Let sit for about 5 minutes to thicken (it will thicken, don’t worry)

Thickened dough

Thickened dough.  See, it thickened

Spread on the pizza pan, stone or parchment paper.  I used parchment paper and it came out fine.

Spread the dough

Spread the dough

Bake for 15 minutes  in a 425 degree oven or until it is cooked through.

Add toppings and bake or broil until they are done.

Pizza Oven Fresh

Pizza Oven Fresh

Enjoy!

TIPS:

As with any pizza crust you will want to grease your pan if you aren’t using a silicone pad or parchment paper.

When you spread the dough out make an indention 1/2 inch in from the edge to hold your toppings in.

See my Pesto Pizza  post to find out how I topped mine!

4 thoughts on “Low Carb Pizza Crust

  1. Pingback: Pesto Pizza | Hoecakes & Hemlines

  2. Pingback: Salmon Pizza, Yes I said Salmon Pizza | Hoecakes & Hemlines

    • I have not tried to make it in advance and refrigerate it. It only takes about 5 to 10 minutes to prepare it before baking it, so I’ve always done it all at once.

Leave a Reply

