Pesto Pizza

When I get a craving for pizza I have found it is best for me to make one.  Who knows what I’ll be eating if I go out for one.  EEEEWWWW, I don’t want to even think about it.  This one turned out wonderful!

First I made a pesto to use in place of the sauce.  I, of course, had to put a Michelle twist on the pesto.  (Did you expect anything less?)

Ingredients:

Basil (I grabbed a couple bunches out of the garden)

Rosemary ( garden)

Oregano ( garden)

Pine nuts (thank you Costco)

Kale ( garden)

Swiss Chard ( garden)

Olive oil (thank you Costco)

There’s really no measuring the ingredients.  I put in amounts I thought would be good together and as for the olive oil I used it to get the paste to a desired consistency.

I put the all above ingredients in my Vitamix except for the olive oil.

In the blender we go

In the blender we go

I started the blender and poured olive oil in through the top until it reached the desired consistency.

Pesto Michelle Style

Pesto Michelle Style

Spread the pesto on your prepared pizza crust.  If you don’t have one, please try my Low Carb Pizza Crust.

Put on your desired toppings and bake or broil until done.

The toppings on this pizza are:

Mushrooms (thank you Costco)

Red Bell Pepper (thank you Costco)

Jalapeno Pepper ( garden)

Mozzarella Cheese (thank you Costco)

Parmesan Cheese (thank you Costco)

I usually put it in a 400 degree oven to bake.  It will take about 20 minutes.  Really all you are looking for is to melt the cheese.

Oven Fresh Pizza

Oven Fresh Pizza

I'll take a slice, please

I’ll take a slice, please

Can you see that Rahr Texas Red Amber Lager (thank you Costco)in the background?  It was a nice match to my pizza!

3 thoughts on “Pesto Pizza

  1. Pingback: Low Carb Pizza Crust | Hoecakes & Hemlines

Leave a Reply

