Baked Oatmeal

I like to make our breakfast for the week on Sunday.  That way each weekday morning all we have to do is grab something and eat it.  There is no preparation… just face stuffing.

I saw this lovely pin on Pinterest and was inspired to make my version.  Basically what happened was I looked at this recipe for the ratio of liquid to oats and then put in what I liked.  I must give credit where credit is due because had I not seen this pin, I wouldn’t have tried it myself.

Here’s your ratio of oats to liquid 1:1.  I used two cups of oats and two cups of liquid.  It turned out delicious!  Here’s my version:

2 cups oats (rolled or steel cut) (I bought mine at Costco)

1/4 cup brown sugar (I really used less but that was the measuring cup I pulled out so I filled it about 3/4 of the way) – I’ll be cutting the sugar back even more next time.  It was plenty sweet.

1 tsp baking powder

1 tbsp cinnamon (I bought mine at Costco)

1/4 tsp ground cloves

1/8 tsp ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg white (I bought mine at Costco)

2 cups milk (or in my case soy milk) (I bought mine at Costco)

3 tbsp olive oil (I bought mine at Costco)

1 tbsp vanilla extract (I bought mine at Costco)

1 1/2 cups blueberries (I bought mine at Costco)

10 small plums, pitted and sliced  (I bought mine at Costco)

1 banana, sliced

1/2 pecans, chopped (I bought mine at Costco)

Mix the oats, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, salt in a large bowl. – Your dry ingredients.

Add the fruit (except for the banana or whatever you want to be on top for presentation) and nuts to your dry ingredients.

In another bowl ( I used my 4 cup measuring cup) mix milk, egg white, olive oil, vanilla extract – Your wet ingredients.

Either grease a baking dish or do as I did and use parchment paper (it makes cleanup SO easy).

Put your Oat/Fruit mixture in the dish then pour your wet ingredients over it.

Use a spatula to make sure the liquid is even dispersed.

Now make it pretty by putting your sliced banana and whatever else you choose on top.

Bake it in a 375 degree oven for about 35 to 40 minutes or until the top is golden brown and the mixture has set.

Baked Oatmeal

Baked Oatmeal

We had some after it came out of the oven over some Vanilla Ice Dream last night.  I couldn’t wait until this morning.  This morning I had some with an Egg Muffin I made out of egg whites.  It was a very satisfying breakfast and oh so delicious!

2 thoughts on “Baked Oatmeal

    • It is awesome! I’ve eaten some every morning so far and still like it. If I change it up each week then I shouldn’t get bored with it. At least that’s my theory!

Leave a Reply

