Pecan Trout

As usual, I was busy sewing and not paying attention to the time.  It happens more than I care to admit.  I started getting hungry and noticed that it was well past dinner time.  Normally I get home and start cooking so dinner will be ready when John arrives home.  He was working an hour late so I thought I had an hour to sew.  My hour turned into two.  You know the story…  Anyway I thought I was starving by the time I realized how hungry I was. Thankfully when I got home from work I had enough sense to take two pieces of trout out of the freezer.

I went into the kitchen and starting throwing everything in the skillet and this is what I came up with:

Heat a skillet and put a little olive oil in the bottom of the pan to keep the trout from sticking. Then add the trout.

Add sliced mushrooms, sliced red sweet peppers, sliced poblano peppers and some pecans.

Then add whatever herbs you want to.  I tore up a couple of Thai basil leaves and threw them in.

Pecan Trout

Pecan Trout Cooking

Cover it and cook.  It will only take about 5 minutes or so.

I served mine over some left over salad.  The salad was mixed greens (kale, turnip greens & spinach) with peppers, carrots and broccoli.  I had a side of buckwheat groats to make it a complete meal.

The salad and buckwheat were left overs.  I microwaved the buckwheat and the salad was cold.  I put the fish on top of it to wilt it a bit.

Pecan Trout Plated

Pecan Trout Plated

The next time I think I will chop the pecans, but overall I say it is a winner.  I love it when a no plan meal comes together beautifully!

The trout was frozen and purchased at Costco as were the pecans.

2 thoughts on “Pecan Trout

Leave a Reply

