Granola

After I got home from the gym this morning (and after I ate breakfast), I was feeling productive.  I was still a little hungry after eating my eggs and what I wanted was cereal, but I made some granola instead.  We cut cereal out of our diet because we are trying to remove as many processed foods as we can.  The problem is I AM IN LOVE WITH CEREAL.  Specifically Grapenuts.  Granola and soy milk will have to be the replacement.

Here’s what I used:

3 cups (ish) of rolled oats

Raw pecans – didn’t measure. Just put in a couple of hands full.

Raw almonds – didn’t measure. Just put in a couple of hands full.

Raw walnuts – didn’t measure. Just put in a couple of hands full.

Coconut flakes – didn’t measure. Just put in a little.

Cinnamon – didn’t measure.  Sprinkled it over everything until I thought I had enough.

Ginger (ground) – didn’t measure.  Sprinkled it over everything until I thought I had enough.

Cloves (ground)  – didn’t measure.  Sprinkled it over everything until I thought I had enough.

Olive oil – 1/4 cup

Honey – about 1/4 cup (I actually used less than that, but that’s the smallest measuring cup I have)  Be sure to use the same measuring cup as the olive oil. The oil coats the measuring cup. Makes clean up easier.

Water – 1/8 to 1/6 cup (I guessed.  I filled my 1/4 cup a little more than halfway)

Hemp hearts – didn’t measure.  I guess I put in about 1/4 cup.

Vanilla Extract – about 1 tbsp

Salt – a dash

Mix your dry ingredients then add your wet ingredients.  Toss until everything is coated.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (easy cleanup) and pour the mixture onto the paper.  Spread it evenly and bake in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes.

Stir after the first 10 minutes then bake for 6 more minutes.

Stir and bake for 6 more minutes.

The granola should be well toasted and not burnt.  Remove from oven when it reaches the desired amount of toastedness (I make up my own words as I go).

Let it cool and store in an airtight container.

Once cooled you can add dried fruit and/or chocolate for a trail mix if you like.

Since I added honey and coconut flakes I did not add any dried fruit or chocolate.  I’m trying to keep our sugars to a minimum.

We had a bowl of it fresh out of the oven over soy milk.  Man oh man was it good!  I can see this as a way to replace your children’s cereal.  At least you know what went into it.

I can see adding this to some spiced pears or apples.  OH even as a topping to pumpkin pie!  There are so many possibilities…

Granola

Granola

And keep in mind how easy and quick this was to make.  I wasn’t even late to work this morning!

Leave a Reply

