No Knit, No Crochet Scarf

I found the easiest way to make a scarf from yarn without knitting or crocheting!  It is super simple and fun.  All you will need is some yarn, coordinating thread and a sewing machine.

Take your yarn and zig zag it then sew right down the middle.  I used a straight stitch.  Go slow.  It is much easier to keep the yarn in line if you go slow.  At least for me it was.

Zig Zag your yarn and sew down the middle

Zig Zag your yarn and sew down the middle

I used the plate on my sewing machine to make the zigs and zags about the same size.  I also used a chunky yarn to make this go faster.  You could by all means use a worsted weight or sport weight yarn.  I had some chunky yarn on hand and since this was an experiment, I wanted it to go quickly.  Who knew it would turn out so awesome?!

Freshly sewn yarn

Freshly sewn yarn

This is what it looks like just after sewing it.  You could easily go back and sew another one or two times to strengthen it, although it seems to hold up just fine with one.

Completed Scarf

Completed Scarf

Here it is all finished.  I used my arm because all the pics I took of myself wearing it were awful.  Me, not the scarf.  The scarf looked cute, I on the other hand looked hideous.  I looked like a troll with a lovely scarf around my neck.

So here’s what I am thinking about doing different next time:

  • maybe not make all the loops the same.  Do some long and some short.
  • using more than one color of yarn
  • maybe layering yarns

The options are endless, but you get the general idea(s).

Most importantly, HAVE FUN WITH IT!

 

7 thoughts on “No Knit, No Crochet Scarf

    • I know! I wish I could remember where I read about it and got the idea. I’d like to credit that person, but I can’t figure out where it was. I love this though! I have so much yarn at home just waiting to be sewn!

    • Yes, it most certainly would. Elisa and I are playing with it tonight. Independently, so hopefully we will come up with some fun stuff to do with the technique.

  1. Pingback: Let’s Get Loopy | Hoecakes & Hemlines

Leave a Reply

