Low Carb, Gluten Free Cookies

I made some cookies (or cookie bars) last night that turned out pretty tasty.  I was looking for a low carb snack for the week.  Here’s what I did:

Ingredients

3 cups nuts (I used raw almonds, chopped)

1 cup dates (chopped)

3 TBSP hemp hearts

1 cup Flax meal

3/4 cup egg substitute (or 3 large eggs)

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/8 cup coconut oil

1 TSP vanilla extract

1/2 TSP salt

Cinnamon to taste

Ginger to taste

Cloves to taste

Nutmeg to taste

You can add some sugar or honey to sweeten this if you like.  I don’t think I’d add more than 1/4 cup.

Mix all your ingredients and spread them on a parchment paper lined baking pan.  It will seem kind of thick, but it will spread.  You can use a spatula or, as I did, use your built in spatulas.  I put gloves on and put a little coconut oil on my gloves and spread it with my hands.

Spread on cookie sheet

Spread on cookie sheet

Bake at 300 degrees for about 30 to 45 minutes or until done (knife test).  Let them cool then cut into bars. Enjoy!

Cookies

Cookies

 

 

Leave a Reply

