Gluten Free Blueberry Cobbler

I had a little incident with a bag of frozen blueberries on Thanksgiving morning.  Our dog was having a rough night Wednesday.  The only way I could get her to sleep was to hold her.  So she slept and I didn’t.  Thursday morning I got up (notice I didn’t say woke up) and made John a bowl of oatmeal with blueberries.  I for some reason in my sleep deprived state put the blueberries in the refrigerator and not the freezer.  I don’t recall doing it, but I know it was me. We didn’t figure out my mistake until we got home that night.  I was left with no other option but to use the blueberries before they went bad.  That meant blueberry cobbler.  We took one to a friend and the other to my sister’s house.  They were both appreciative.  More importantly the cobblers were delicious!

Ingredients:

Blueberries (once frozen, now thawed lol) – purchased at Costco

One apple (washed, cut, unpeeled)

Cinnamon to taste

Ginger to taste

Cloves to taste

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 tbsp arrow root

1 tbsp honey

Two recipes of Just Nuts Crust.

I poured the thawed blueberries into a pot and cut up an apple and put it in as well. I added everything but the arrow root and cooked it for about 10 minutes.  I dissolved the arrow root in a little water and put it in the pot to thicken it up.  I turned off the heat and stirred in the arrow root until I thought it was thoroughly dispersed.  It was thickened a little bit.  It will thicken up more as it bakes.

Cook with one apple

Cook with one apple

Pour it into a pan with one recipe of Just Nuts Crust in it and top it with the other recipe of Just Nuts Crust.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 20 to 25 minutes or until the crust is browned.

Blueberry cobbler

Blueberry cobbler

Serve warm. Refrigerate the left overs.

Plated blueberry cobbler

Plated blueberry cobbler

Leave a Reply

