Chicken Soup with Sweet Potato Gnocchi

I made some delicious chicken soup.  Of course it is always delicious when it is full of fat from using a whole chicken.

IMG_2980

I started with a whole chicken.  I washed it and removed the um, goodies, from inside it.  I put it in a pot of water with a cayenne pepper, some onions and herbs. Oh and I added some orange rind.  The herbs I chose were fresh rosemary and fresh sage.

Put chicken in water

Put chicken in water

I cooked the chicken for about an hour then pulled it out of the water and de-boned it.  I put the meat back into the pot.  Then I added some carrots, brussel sprouts and mustard greens.

Put pieces of chicken back in the pot

Put pieces of chicken back in the pot

I also made some sweet potato gnocchi and cooked it in the soup.

Make sweet potato gnocchi

Make sweet potato gnocchi

Cook gnocchi in soup

Cook gnocchi in soup

Essentially what I had was chicken and dumplings.

I had some extra gnocchi so I put them on a plate lined with wax paper and put it in the freezer for about an hour.  Then I put them into a freezer bag for later use.

Freeze extra gnocchi

Freeze extra gnocchi

Please ignore state of my freezer.  I don’t have a big fancy freezer.  Just a normal sized one that is stuffed from our last grocery trip and the last harvest of the gardens. It is a mess, I know.  On the upside, the gnocchi will freeze nicely and really that’s what is important.

Bowl of chicken gnocchi soup

Bowl of chicken gnocchi soup

4 thoughts on “Chicken Soup with Sweet Potato Gnocchi

  1. Pingback: Homemade Crackers | Hoecakes & Hemlines

  2. Pingback: Homemade Crackers « My Low Carb Hell

Leave a Reply

