Banana Nut Bars

My boyfriend asked me to make him something to snack on for the week.  Happily, I made him some banana nut bars.  A simple snack.

Ingredients:

2 mashed bananas

3/4 cup of egg substitute (or 3 large eggs)

1/2 cup of coconut oil

1 TSP vanilla extract

Cinnamon to taste (I used 1/2 TBSP)

Ginger to taste (I used 1/2 TSP)

Cloves to taste (I used 1/8 TSP)

Nutmeg to taste (I used 1/8 TSP)

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

3 cups nuts of choice.  (I used a mixture of Pecans, Almonds and Walnuts)

1 tsp baking powder

Mix wet ingredients, then mix dry ingredients.  Mix the two.  Spread it on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. I put some whole and pieces of pecans on top to make it pretty.

Spread onto parchment paper lined baking pan.

Spread onto parchment paper lined baking pan.

Bake it in a 300 degree oven for about 30 minutes or until it is done (use knife test).

Bake for 30 minutes

Bake for 30 minutes

Let them cool, then cut into bars and enjoy!

Packed some for my Sweetie to take to work.

Packed some for my handsome man to take to work.

If you wanted, you could add chocolate chips, dates or really anything.  You could replace the whole wheat flour with flax.  I could keep going, but I won’t.  I want to see what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

