Coconut Salt Scrub

I made my own salt scrub and then made extra to give away as gifts along with some of my homemade lip balm.  It was super simple.  I don’t know why I’ve been buying it for so long!

Ingredients:

Coconut Oil

Olive Oil

Salt

Essential oil (optional)

There are numerous variations of this.  Find some oils you are happy with and use those.  Right now I am in love with coconut oil and I always have olive oil on hand.  Since coconut oil becomes a solid at room temperature, I thought I’d blend in and equal amount of olive oil to keep it from totally solidifying.  Then I mixed in a bunch of salt and a few drops of essential oil (my choice was grapefruit oil).

Start with the coconut oil.  Since it is a solid you’ll want to break it up.  Put it in the your mixer and whip it.  At first, you’ll be doubting me, but keep at it, it will whip.  Once it has whipped, add some olive oil and mix the two.

Olive and coconut oils

Olive and coconut oils

Whip the coconut and olive oils

Whip the coconut and olive oils

Mixed oils

Mixed oils

Once the two are mixed, add some essential oil (optional) Add as little or as much as you like.  I find it best to only use a little, but you aren’t making it for me.  Then add salt.  Lots of salt.  You want it to look grainy and thick.  The salt is what is going to scrub all that dead skin off you!

Add salt, lots of salt

Add salt, lots of salt

Add essential oil

Add essential oil

Mix it all together with a spatula.  Then transfer it to jars for gifts or some other storage container for yourself.  I used a 1/4 measure scoop to fill the jars I purchased.

Stored mine in a bowl by the sink.

Stored mine in a bowl by the sink.

Jars

Jars

Filled jars

Filled jars

Apply liberally to hands and scrub over the sink.

Scoop up some out of the container.

Scoop up some out of the container.

Rinse with warm water.  If you hands feel too oily, then use soap to wash them.  If you use soap to wash, you will want to moisturize your hands afterwards so you don’t dry out your newly exfoliated skin.

My before hand

My before hand

My after hand

My after hand

His before hand

His before hand

His after hand

His after hand

2 thoughts on “Coconut Salt Scrub

    • This would work for you. It is ok if it is liquid. You only want it to moisturize and um, for lack of a better word, lubricate your hands while you scrub. You’ll be rinsing and/or washing it off anyway.

Leave a Reply

