Easy Whole Wheat Banana Nut Cake in 30 Minutes

I spent Sunday morning baking.  My Sis and her family and my Mom were coming over for dinner to celebrate my sister’s birthday (28th, of course).  I wanted to bake some sweets for everyone, but I don’t do standard sweets.  I have to make them a better choice than what you usually get.  Here’s my version of banana nut cake.

cake

cake

Preheat oven to 350

Ingredients:

1/2 cup olive oil

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

3 ripe bananas, mashed

1/3 cup low fat plain yogurt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup nuts (I used pecans)

2 tbsp hemp hearts (thank you Costco!)

hemp hearts

hemp hearts

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (thank you Central Market!)

Mix the dry ingredients together and set aside.

To the mashed bananas add: Eggs (one at a time, mixing well, yogurt, lemon juice, vanilla and oil)

Combine the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients until just mixed.

Add nuts, mix well.

Line your 13×9 cake pan with parchment paper and pour batter into pan evenly.

Bake for 20 minutes or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Cool before cutting.

I sprinkled mine with cinnamon before serving.

banana nut cake

banana nut cake

Leave a comment